Kenya's Most Authoritative Political Newspaper

Citizen Weekly

Monday 9 February 2015

Busia MPs, Wako boycott Ojamoong’s prayers

Seven MPs, senator, women rep and MCAs in Busia county boycotted the first prayer meeting which was organised by Busia governor Sospeter Ojaamong.
The legislators who skipped the occasion were MPs Ababu Namwamba (Budalangi), Paul Otuoma (Samia), John Bunyasi (Nambale) and Arthur Odera (Teso North), Michael Onyura (Butula), Geoffrey Odanga (Matayos) and Mary Emaase (Teso South). Senator Amos Wako and women rep Florence Mutua did not attend.
Some MCAs walked out of Farmview Hotel where the meeting was supposed to be held after waiting for three hours without seeing any order of the day. The meeting which was expected to be attended by all leaders in Busia county was supposed to kick off from 8.00 am but it started around 11.00 am when the governor arrived at the venue having flown from Nigeria where he had gone on tour with some county officials.
Investigations carried out by Weekly Citizen revealed that the leaders skipped the occasion after learning that Ojaamong was out of the country.
It is said that some leaders were not happy with the way the governor was distributing key positions in the seven sub counties. “It is true that the MPs, the senator and the women rep boycotted the meeting intentionally because they are not happy with the manner in which the governor is handling distribution of key positions among the seven sub counties,” one MCA said on condition of anonymity fearing  victimisation. Tribalism emerged between Teso and Luhya MCAs when Albert Ekirapa was appointed last month as the Busia county secretary at the county assembly hall where a heated debate erupted from those supporting and those opposing the motion.
 Bunyala South rep Stephen Omenda opposed the move claiming that the position was meant for the people of Budalangi and not for Teso. “The name of the nominee was not forwarded procedurally because three letters were received from the county executive instead of the county governor Ojaamong alone,” Omenda said.
The move prompted Luhya MCAs who opposed the motion to reveal that all key positions in county were being held by leaders from Teso community who had gone against the MOU that had been agreed between the two communities when they were elected into office. Other MCAs who had opposed the motion included Lucas Kuloba (Matayos), and Patrick Gomba of Marachi West. Those who supported the motion included the leader of the majority Bernard Wamalwa, the chairman budget committee Godfrey Odongo and some Luhya MCAs. Addressing the meeting, Ojaamong said that the leaders did not boycott the occasion and had sent apologies because they were committed elsewhere. He appealed on leaders in Busia county to be united and work as a team for the benefit of Busia residents. The press was among those not invited to cover the prayers.

No comments:

Post a Comment