Kenya's Most Authoritative Political Newspaper

Citizen Weekly

Monday 30 March 2015


NAIROBI, Kenya, Mar 30 – Suspended Cabinet Secretary Charity Ngilu has now blamed forces against the ongoing reforms at the Lands Ministry for her recent woes.
Ngilu who stepped down after her name appeared in the confidential report presented by President Uhuru Kenyatta to Parliament during the State of Nation address says some people are not happy with her fight against dubious land transactions.
“There has never been another person in this ministry who has done the transformation that we have been able to carry out with the members of staff, and therefore I do know very powerful people are certainly unhappy with the work that we have done and they will use all means possible within their powers to make sure that the things we have been doing here are not carried out,” she claimed.
Ngilu who spoke to journalists after handing over her responsibilities to ICT Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i said she is not even aware of any crimes she is accused of.
“My constitutional rights and the due process of the law has been violated. People whose identities I don’t know have accused me of crimes I’m unaware of; my accusers have had their side of the story heard and I am condemned unheard. Like any other Kenyan I am entitled to a fair trial, “she complained.
She however expressed confidence that she will be vindicated.
“The President must be supported by all Kenyans to fight graft and I am one of those who have for many years in my public service said that we must fight graft and therefore I will support the President in all ways… however it can neither be selective nor aimed at people who are doing well for the country,” she added.
Ngilu is among five Cabinet Secretaries, Principal Secretaries and State Corporation heads as well as Governors directed to step aside by President Uhuru Kenyatta over corruption allegations.
READ: 5 Cabinet Secretaries, 12 governors in EACC graft list
Other Cabinet Secretaries include Agriculture’s Felix Koskei, Transport CS Engineer Michael Kamau, Energy CS Davis Chirchir and their counterpart, Labour Secretary, Kazungu Kambi.
Deputy President William Ruto’s Chief of Staff Marianne Kitany, Secretary to the Cabinet Francis Kimemia, Defence Principal Secretary Mutea Iringo, Ambassador Chirau Mwakwere and the Chief Executive Officers of the Kenya Pipeline Corporation, National Social Security Fund and the Geo-thermal Development Corporation are also included on the list.
Also on the list are 12 governors; Evans Kidero (Nairobi), Alfred Mutua (Machakos), Ali Hassan Joho (Mombasa), Peter Munya (Meru), Cyprian Awiti (Homa Bay) and Isaac Ruto (Bomet).
Other governors are Ukur Yattani (Marsabit), Godana Doyo ( Isiolo) and Amason Kingi (Kilifi).
Machakos Senator Johnson Muthama, Siaya Senator James Orengo, Nandi Hills MP Alfred Keter, Mt. Elgon MP John Serut, Kitutu Chache MP Richard Onyonka and the members of the Agriculture and Public Accounts Committees of the National Assembly are also on the list.

No comments:

Post a Comment